The day we’ve all been waiting for…testing day!

I am no longer a white belt!

The test finally arrived. It wasn’t deserving of the finger-tingling, gut-clearing nervousness that I was experiencing all day, but it was still enough to give me a bit of a challenge. Mental, primarily. I tested with a gaggle of children (most under age 10), so there were about a bazillion parents and family watching. Somehow, this didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would. In fact, I imagined that they had a bit of sympathy for me, having to test with children. So with their (imaginary) support, I pretty much did all my forms, kicks, self defense, and required knowledge perfectly. So much so that I got the “Best Tester” award. I am inclined to feel a bit unexcited by this because I was the only one over the age of 16, but since I had given my test up to God (so that if I messed up, I could blame Him), I will satisfy myself with the hope that it glorifies God in some small way.

All in all though, the test rocked! It was pretty fun to show off, even if it was tough to remember my forms. Instead of making me tired, it made me want to go run 3 miles and practice some more to get in better shape. That, I think, is how I know that Tae Kwon Do is my true love.

My last thoughts: A white belt signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student with no knowledge of tae kwon do. Does this mean I’m no longer innocent? That must mean that this is the official beginning of my bad**s-ness.

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations!

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

