Party like a jock star

A couple of weeks ago, one of my new friends from my TKD school invited me and a couple of other students over for a night of serious chilling. We cooked some food and just relaxed in front of the TV for a couple of hours. This may sound tame, or at the very least regular, but for me it was a new experience because I have never before experienced any sort of cameraderie with other athletes. Here were some of the most dedicated people in the school, relaxing from a day of hard work and for most, a hard workout (I seem to recall I skipped class that day to hang out- but I needed alot of convincing!). I felt so honored to be a part of this group of elites. I remember thinking that this was the typical high school jock experience that I missed out on. I could see how easily it can go to the head- sitting around, content in our own awesomeness, feeling like we deserved the world because we already reached our quota of hard mental and physical labor for the day.

I have to tell you it was the most fun I think I’ve had in years. I felt totally content.

I’ll be praying for humility, but I’m also really enjoying this feeling. You must understand, this is the first time in my whole life I’ve been really good at something. I’m a jack of all trades by nature, and so was always kind of good at many different things, but Tae Kwon Do is the first chance I’ve ever had to actually be REALLY good at something. I could be the best in my class if I worked hard enough at it. This prospect excites me and gives me so much stability in my life, something to work for that is achievable. This has never happened before.

…I wonder if people at my TKD school would like me as much if I wasn’t good at it?

Leave a Reply

