TKD ahhhhh….

Sometimes going to taekwondo is like breathing fresh air. I had a rough day and all I wanted to do was lose myself in music. Mr. C put on some techno and had us practice our kicks using a partner holding the kicking clappers. I was on point, flexible, and needed to kick the heck out of something. I did side turning kicks with perfect technique (it’s all in the hips!) and the satisfying THWACK! of the pads was like balm to my soul. Then we went for height and with each kick my partner raised it higher (with the egging on of Barbell) until it was at about 7 feet. I leaned over and reached as high as I could, and it was beautiful. Out of the corner of my eye I could see Mr. C watching me. I’m flattered any time that he praises me, but tonight he offered a high compliment when he said with a smile, “Feels good, doesn’t it?” It was as if I had been invited into a small circle of talented tae kwon do artists who actually know how it feels to do things right, to just “get it”. To FEEL the art flowing through them. It clicks with me. It does feel good. So good, I can’t describe.

I’m so thankful. May God protect me so I may continue to improve in this sport.

One Response

  1. I’ve been doing tkd for 3 years now and I find that when I’m having the most horrible day I feel completely refreshed by the time I leave class. I’m so thankful to have been led to this sport by my son’s amazing instructor. I just received my 1st degree black belt and can’t believe I’ve gotten this far.

Leave a Reply

